PgMP® Certification

Project Management

The Program Management Professional (PgMP)® is a highly recognized certification for program managers. This certification is a visible sign of your advanced experience and skill and gives you a distinct advantage in employment and promotion. Learn what the PgMP credential is, what's involved in the application process, and how our certification training helps you obtain and maintain your PgMP certification.

Go directly to info about our Program Management Professional (PgMP) Certification Prep Course.

There are two parts to the PgMP certification process:

Part 1—Application/Panel Review:

The initial evaluation occurs through an extensive application review during which a panel of credentialed program managers will assess your professional experience based on your responses to the Program Management Experience Summaries provided on the application.

Part 2—Multiple-Choice Examination:

 The next step occurs with the multiple-choice examination in which you will be called upon to demonstrate your competence in both situational and scenario-based questions.

For Part One, the PgMP application, the requirements are:

  • Get PMI to approve your PgMP application (which means meeting all the application requirements)
  • Pass the examination
  • Maintain your certification by earning 60 PDUs over every three years


PgMP Certification Process

Here is the process you must follow and some helpful details to help you successfully gain the PgMP certification:

Based on PMI Program Management Professional (PgMP) Certification Handbook

Certification Resources

  • PgMP Handbook
  • PgMP Exam Content Outline

PMP® Eligibility Requirements

To be eligible for the PgMP credential, you must meet certain educational and professional experience requirements. All project and program management experience must have been accrued over the last 15 consecutive years.

Four-Year Degree (Bachelor's or the global equivalent) Secondary Diploma (high school or the global equivalent)
  • Minimum 4 years (6,000 hours) of project management experience
  • Minimum 4 years (6,000 hours) of program management experience
  • Minimum of 4 years (6,000 hours) of project management experience
  • Minimum 7 years (10,500 hours) of program management experience

PgMP Application Fees

PMP Exam Administration Type PMI Member PMI Nonmember
Computer-based testing $800 $1000
Paper-based testing $700 $900
Reexamination CBT $600 $800
Reexamination PBT $500 $700
CCR Certification renewal $60 $150

What you need to know about the PgMP certification application and renewal process

  • Once you start the PgMP application process you have 90 days to complete
  • Do the online PgMP application if at all possible. It takes five business days to process as opposed to waiting for the mail to get to the right person
  • You can't schedule your PgMP exam until the application is approved and fees are paid
  • If you are audited (possibly up to 25% of applications are randomly audited), you have 90 days to respond. You are not eligible until the successful completion of the audit
  • You have one year to take the PgMP exam after application approval. You can retake the PgMP exam three times during that year
  • Your PgMP certification cycle starts the day you pass your exam, and your cycle is 3 years. You need 60 PDUs during that cycle
  • You complete the renewal process once you have 60 PDUs and pay the renewal fee
  • PgMP certification suspension happens on the third anniversary of the day you passed your exam and you have yet to renew (1 year period)
  • PgMP certification expiration happens one year after the suspension period begins


PgMP Exam Content Overview

PgMP Exam Information

No. of Scored Questions

No. of Pretest (Unscored) Questions

Total Examination Questions




Allotted PgMP Examination Time

4hrs. – Examination is preceded by a tutorial and followed by a survey, both are optional and can take up to 15mins to complete.

PgMP Exam Blueprint


Percentage of Questions

Domain 1––Strategic Program Management (11 tasks)


Domain 2––Program Life Cycle (35 tasks)


Initiating (6 tasks)


Planning (9 tasks)


Executing (9 tasks)


Controlling (6 tasks)


Closing (5 tasks)


Domain 3––Benefits Management (8 tasks)


Domain 4––Stakeholder Management (7 tasks)


Domain 5––Governance (11 tasks)





For more information on this certification, visit The Program Management Professional (PgMP) Certification Prep Course.

PMI, PMI-ACP, PMP and PgMP are registered marks of the Project Management Institute, Inc.

Courses related to this certification:
  • Education and Experience
  • Panel Review
  • Exam
  • Training

PMI Member: $800 PMI Non-Member: $1,000

Exam Details

170 multiple choice questions over 4 hours proctored at Prometric testing facility

Exam questions based on PgMP Exam Content Outline

Required Education

Secondary degree (high school or equivalent)

Four-year degree (bachelor's degree or equivalent)

Required Experience

6,000 hours of project management experience; 10,500 hours of program management experience


6,000 hours of project management experience; 6,000 hours of program management experience

Other Requirement Details

Panel Review with expert program managers reviewing answers to five summary questions regarding experience

Comply wth PMI Code of Ethics (


60 PDUs/3 years

Must be compliant with PMI Talent Triangle (